Josh McDaniels

Josh McDaniels


***Introduction: As some of you may already know, I blog for a sports website in Denver. Earlier this week I posted this blog asking a question to the city of Denver about Josh McDaniels. It became a very popular blog post and sparked lots of comments and even caught the attention of a Denver Magazine. I have decided to post this blog on my personal blog site since I am now known as the man who has crowned Josh McDaniels as “The most hated man in Denver“. Feel free to read and leave your comments if you may.***

Why do so many Broncos fans dislike or hate Josh McDaniels? That’s the question that I have asked myself for over a year now. Before I moved here in November of 2009, I was well aware of the hate that most people in this city have for Josh McDaniels. I have never seen a city turn on a coach as fast as Denver has on McDaniels, nor can I understand how it happened. So now that I lived in the “Mile High City” for six or seven months and have yet to figure out this hate for McDaniels. I have decided that I would ask you guys directly as a group so that maybe Broncos fans can shed some light on this situation.

Several thoughts and questions that have gone through my head over the past year are as follows:

1. Do Broncos fans hate him because he is a young coach who was given a head coaching job maybe too soon in the eyes of Broncos fans?

2. Is it because when he came here he traded away a young pro bowl quarterback in Jay Cutler who many called Favre Jr with attitude issues?

3. Is it because he has come in and brought the Parcells/Belichick arrogance/attitude of “It’s my way or the highway”?

4. Is it simply because Broncos fans don’t like change?

5. Its surely not because he traded away Brandon Marshall and Tony Scheffler for 5th round picks, because this hatred or dislike that Broncos fans have towards Josh developed long before the Marshall and Scheffler trades.

6. Maybe it’s because this city became way too attached to a two time Super Bowl winning coach in Mike Shanahan, and trusted him to make this team a winner again?

I’m sure that I have missed some of the many reasons as to why he is hated, so please do comment and explain why because I don’t know. What I do know is that Josh has been the man in charge here in Denver for 18 months, and before the 2009 season even started, half of the city wanted to lynch him on the front lawn of the state capital. That’s a lot of hate for a city who has marijuana dispensaries and liquor stores on darn near every corner. I would think the easy access to smoke away or drink away your stress would erase the hate or ease the pain of this transition that the franchise is going through. I agree that Josh has come in and done some things that have made people scratch their heads. I was one of many people across the country who thought that Josh was high on medicinal marijuana when he traded Jay Cutler to Chicago. That whole Cutler trade situation wasn’t handled correctly by Josh or Jay. So I don’t know if we can really place all of the blame just on Josh. But the idea of trading Cutler was foul and I still don’t agree with it to this day. Trading Brandon Marshall was something that was going to happen no matter what, so it didn’t faze me. Brandon wanted a new deal with big money, and Denver was not going to do that for a player with Marshall’s history. The Tony Scheffler trade was probably the second biggest surprise/head scratcher for me after the Cutler trade. That trade didn’t really make sense to me at all, but Josh firing Mike Nolan after one year did.

When Josh was hired I was of the opinion that all he needed to do was fix the defense because the offense had talent and was pretty good. A month later after his first few roster moves, I started digging into stats and watching game film. I realized that despite some of the impressive numbers, the offense wasn’t that efficient and had major issues. The Broncos may have had a offense ranked in the top five in passing and averaged over 25 points a game, but I can point out five issues that killed those all of accomplishments. In addition to that, this team didn’t have the type of players that Josh needed to run his Erhardt-Perkins New England Patriot style offense. When you lay all of the cards out on the table, you can see the method to Josh’s madness. In the NFL you have to be able to see the big picture and think long term and not short term when you’re building a team. A lot of Josh McDaniel’s moves are moves that will benefit this team long-term. Now I am not going to be like Michael Lombardi of the NFL Network and guarantee that Josh will bring a Super Bowl to Denver. But I do see him doing great things and getting this team to a level where they are a serious contender year in and year out.

One negative thing that I see about Josh is his arrogance that could potentially get him in trouble. People call him a quarterback coaching guru and it seems as if it’s gone to his head as shown by his selection of Tim Tebow in the first round. I believe that Tebow will be a good quarterback and Denver was the best team for him to go to besides New England. But he wasn’t worth a first round pick and not worth all of the picks that Josh gave up to trade up to get him. The day after the draft I mentioned on my personal blog site on a draft grades and analysis blog that the Tim Tebow pick could ultimately get Josh fired in four years. In the end though, I have been impressed with how Josh has completely remade this team on the fly in just 18 months. That’s hard to do in the NFL these days. So for all of you Broncos fans who want Josh fired, give him time. You can’t judge him just yet after being on the job for 18 months. At the same time, please do let me know what’s up with you guys and Josh……… because I DON’T GET IT.

Follow David Johnson on Twitter

Leave a Reply

